PDA

View Full Version : Proud mom of...

busyizzie
04-13-2007, 04:43 PM
a special education kid!

I'm really not saying this to be trival or inappropriate because as a teacher I know how important this is to students.

I'm saying this because since 5-6th grade my youngest son has struggled with school to the point that now his first year in high school is almost a complete washout.

He was diagnosed with ADHD in the middle of his 8th grade year and he's really been unsuccessful in school. I have been pushing and pushing to get him services and they've said he doesn't qualify. Then we paid for testing ourselves last summer and gave it to the highschool the first week of school. It's been ongoing and the 504 plans just didn't work and so he's failed and now we're going to be playing catch up on getting him to graduate with his class.

So by me saying I'm proud that he's special ed is gratifying because I've been fighting and fighting to get him the help that it's finally like I've won the battle. I'm finally relieved that he'll be getting some help that will allow him to be successful.

What a lucky Friday the 13th! :party: :51: :regular_s

Charla
04-13-2007, 04:49 PM
That's wonderful, Laura! I hope this helps him get the help he needs to succeed :)

micmau
04-13-2007, 05:22 PM
Congrats! It is sooo hard to get children the help that they need education wise, I am so glad that you were able to get it. He will do great!

chloe
04-13-2007, 05:31 PM
That's great! Congrats for fighting so hard for him, you're a great mom!

mamakimberly
04-13-2007, 05:32 PM
I'm SO glad you fought for him to get the services he needs!! Congrats mom- job well done!!!

scrappinmichele
04-13-2007, 08:09 PM