PDA

View Full Version : Downloading with Dial-up :(

lbth-mi
08-26-2005, 10:24 AM
I have dial-up. I would like to have a cable connection but I also like eating and I would have to give up one for the other :(

DSL is out because it is not available in my area. :(

That leaves me with dial-up. I do have a second line, so I am not tying up the house phone when I am downloading digital files, but still...it takes about 4 (yes, four!) hours to download the average digital kit.

Is there a different way that I just am not seeing? I am just starting out in digital scrapping and I'm having lots of fun with it.

LorraineM
08-26-2005, 12:29 PM
You poor thing.....it must be torture!!! Know that thing about eating, it always gets in the way. The only thing I can think of is go to a friend that has a quicker connection speed and then save to cd/disk? Hope this helps speed things up for you.
Good luck,
Lorraine

Vania16
08-26-2005, 01:23 PM
I don't think there's much you can do about the speed of downloading with dial up unfortunately - when I had it I did find that it went a little quicker at night (maybe less people then? I don't know). But, you might check with your cable company if they have a cheaper option. I have Cox and their regularly advertised service is something like $40 a month - way too much for me - but they also have a rarely advertised, slightly slower service that is only about $25 a month. It's loads better than dial up and I still get to eat :) Just a suggestion :)

MandaBean
08-26-2005, 01:30 PM
Dial-up=Evil! But when that's all you have, it's better than no net at all. I had it until about 2 years ago and I don't know what I would do if I had to go back. But hey..you're right about needing to eat. Sorry you are having problems. I wish the internet could be one super fast ride for all of us. Hope you find yourself with a speedier connection soon!

ditzyscrap
08-26-2005, 04:49 PM