PDA

View Full Version : Need good job vibes/thoughts...

rh_scrapbooker
01-18-2006, 05:55 PM
I am currently a contractor in my field (technical writing). I have submitted resumes for several jobs (permanent and contract) in the last couple weeks, and I got a heads up from someone I know at one company that I should be expecting a phone call in the next 2 days from HR.

The good news is that it is a permanent position with benefits (very important to me, having been without them several times in the last 3 years).

The bad news is that I sometimes interview badly. Cheeks flushed, deer in the headlights look, etcetera. In all honesty, I've only interviewed 6 times in my career field (I got 5 out of those 6 jobs) - so it's a confidence thing.

Please, could I get some positive vibes and thoughts for me in the coming week? I love contracting, but I hate the uncertainty. I really want this job. My current contract position is over by February 28th (sooner if I get this job - the manager understands my situation).

Rachel

Valgal
01-18-2006, 06:21 PM
Oh no... not the deer in the headlights! LOL! I'm sure you'll do fine... when you know what you want, it's easier to be confident about getting it.

My dh likes to try to make the interviewer laugh (risky business if you ask me). One time he was asked, "What did you do to prepare for this interview?" He lifted up his tie and said, "I bought this tie." LMAO! My guy is so weird sometimes.

Good luck!

MarshaZepeda
01-18-2006, 06:23 PM
Oh girl.... I so know what you are talking about! I HATE interviews! lol! I know that I am capable of the work but BOMB the interview.... Sending good vibes.... let us know what happens!

abbysmommy
01-18-2006, 06:36 PM
Good luck! Keep this in mind. Coming from a manager of people, leading the interview can be JUST as bad sometimes. Remember, we are people, too. LOL!

KimMauch
01-18-2006, 08:35 PM