PDA

View Full Version : am new & need help

partyofsix
01-21-2006, 02:17 PM
First of all I don't know what a thread is. So forgive me if I'm in the wrong place :) .

I downloaded some free things to see if I am able to scrapbook digitally or not, but I can't find what I have downloaded.

Secondly, I downloaded a VERY pretty free "brush", but I don't know what "brush "means in scrapbook lingo!

Thanks, Kate

chloe
01-21-2006, 02:55 PM
Hi Kate!

I'm quite new at digi scrapping, so I hope I won't tell too many stupid things, but I'll try to help you anyway!

A thread is a "forum in the forum" about a specific subject. You should actually have posted your new thread in the "Ask for assistance/FAQs" section, but nevermind. You can see all sections by clicking on the "forums" link on top of the page, then choose your section and read the threads or create a new one.

Concerning the downloading of freebies, you usually have to choose (when you click on the downloading link) if you want to open the file or save it on disk. If you open it, you then have to save it on your file. Freebies are usually .zip files, which means that they are compressed to take less space. You then have to use winzip to uncompress the file and save it in your disk. If you directly save the file when downloading, try to check your desktop or your documents, and if you can't find it there, try to search it with windows explorer. Of course, all of this only work with a PC, not with a Mac.....

Hope this help you, and don't hesitate to ask!

noralong
01-21-2006, 03:03 PM
Hey Kate, don't worry, most of us have had to pick stuff up bit by bit, too! If you go a couple of sections down in the forums, there are folders that are specific to different editing programs. For instance, if you use Photo Shop Elements (or PSE) you can go to that folder and see all the threads started there about that program. Usually I can find the answer I need by reading through those. Give that a go!