PDA

View Full Version : Help me decide!

Jane
07-10-2005, 07:49 AM
I want a new camera so bad! I need some help from others with some knowledge!
First of all I don't have unlimited funds only about $400-$500 to go on.
I'm not a pro so don't talk in photo-geek launguage.
I want something good but fairly easy to use. I think I should stay with a point and shoot model simply because I don't know much about lighting, settings and such for a fully manual camera. I want one with high zoom and a good amount of mp. I take a lot of pictures at my kids ball games.

I have searched so many photo sites and models... I am confused!
I like some of the models that are PAS but also have manual options.
So my question is.. Which are brands are known to have good quality pictures but also are good, sturdy and yet easy to use camera?
I know! I know! Ya all love the Rebel ! My budget just can't swing it and I honestly don't think I'm ready for that yet!
Here are a few I have looked at:
Canon Powershot S2, Kodak DX7590, and Fuji Finepix S3100.
So what do you know about any of these?

Vania16
07-10-2005, 11:22 AM
Sadly, I don't know much about the ones you mentioned, but I'll tell you, I have the Olympus D-580 and I love it, but it's under the price range you're talking - I think they're down to about $200 now (it's 4MP). I have been really pleased with Olympus as a whole though - this is my second Olympus digital and I've gotten great pictures with both! Just my two cents :)

Kat Stokes
07-10-2005, 01:02 PM
I have the Fuji Fine Pix S3100. It seems to be a pretty good camera. Has more zoom than most and I think I only paid $250 for it. I really wanted the Nikon Coolpix 5500 but DH wanted something he could hold onto and that's why we got the Fuji. It's shutter speed kind of lags for me and it takes a moment to "reload". (Not sure of the proper terminology). But overall, it seems to be a good camera.