The DigiChick

organizing a Mac

I saw the offer to help with any questions. Thanks so much and here I go.

Just wondering what is the best way to organize scrapbooking stuff on a Mac? I know to use iphoto but just wondering if there are any other tips and tricks I need before I really get going. I haven't gotten any kits on my Mac yet and I would like to do it "right" the first time.

Thanks
    JD

Hi! I'm still a newbie here, but here is what I do with all the digi-scrapping stuff on iPhoto.

I made some iPhoto galleries and name them like 'kits-I-bought' 'freebies-kits' etc. On each gallery I set up keywords, i.e. paper, element, designer's name, etc.

iPhoto galleries can not be opened at the same time, you have to close the current gallery before you could open the other gallery. And you have to rename the current gallery if you want to open the other gallery, otherwise it will just automatically open the gallery you just close. Sounds confusing? Not to worry, 'coz there is a program called 'iPhoto Buddy' (download for free at Apple's d/l section).

Using this 'iPhoto Buddy', there is no need to rename the galleries, but you still need to close the current gallery before you can open the other. It's easier than it sounds.

Good luck with you iPhoto & Mac, you're gonna love them :regular_s
    Last edited by chibikko; 08-29-2005 at 12:03 PM.

I don't actually use iPhoto for mine, I just have a folder called digi elements which then has folders for each site that I have downloaded from and then they have a folder for the kit. But then I don't really use them much so I I guess I don't really need to be using iPhoto

I don't use iPhoto for my kits. I just save them in a digi scrapping folder and then have other folders in that one for different designers or sites I got the kits from. With PSE it's pretty easy to browse your folders and that's what I use.