The DigiChick

Need help choosing a new lens for my Camera

So yesterday we are all posing for the dreaded Christmas Card photo...everything is set up now we just need to get my dd in her dress, so I place my baby boy at his Daddy's feet and tell him that I am going to get Chrismari ready so we can take the photo and he must watch our little 'monster' , as I am putting on some lip gloss I hear a big crash...Christian pulled down the camera on the tripod and the lens fell off in pieces. Thank goodness he is okay, but where is Dad? Needless to say it is all my fault because I left the camera on the tripod!!!! Ugggh I tell you but sorry for the looong explanation I actually just had to get it off my chest!

So I am a point and shoot gal and I have this Nikon D40 DH got me and I have not messed with it at all...so now I want to replace the lens, this is what I had:

Nikon DX AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II ED

I think it is the basic lens but I am not sure, like I said an absolute newbie at the lens thing. I am thinking of replacing it with a better lens but I can not spend too much on it...$ 500 tops! Any suggestions?

[MKC Newsletter] [MKC TOU]

[The Cutting Files]
    - Revolutionary NEW Way to use your Digital Die-Cutter

Happy to create for
    [THE HYBRID CHICK] [THE HYBRID KID]

Yes, that's the basic lens that comes with the D40. I never use it anymore (should have just sold it with my D40 because I really don't like it anymore!) I'd go with the second one you linked to. Having the aperture go to 1.8 is AWESOME. If they'd had that lens available when I owned my D40, I wouldn't have bothered upgrading to the D70. (I only did it because I'd bought the similar lens to that one, but mine doesn't auto-focus on the D40, so I lost 2/3 of my pictures to blurriness )
    The other one is supposed to be pretty good as a zoom lens, but if what you take pictures of most of the time is your kids inside or nearby, then that would be too far to work well.