The DigiChick

Just a Baby Chick Hanging with the Chicks!

So Frustrated with Printing!

I'm relatively new to making digital layouts. I think this will be something I will LOVE but I'm frustrated with my attempts at printing. I can't figure out why, when I print from Photoshop Elements, the colors on the screen are not even close to what comes out of my printer. However, if I pull the file up in Illustrator, the colors are true (but the resolution is off). Can anyone shed light for me on what's going on here? I am so frustrated by my lack of knowledge! :-) Thanks for your input!

Melissa

Kinda done with this Jack Frost nose nipping thing... Digichick Designer Mom0fgirls's Avatar
    Melissa -

Do you have it set up so in the print dialog box so that Photoshop manages colors and the color profile matches your photoshop file (usually sRGB IEC61966-2.1).

Then you need to set your printer preferences to "application manages colors". My printer also has this automatic photo fix option that I shut off.

This is what works for me anyway...
    Cathrine St.Clair

Lover of all things furry and four-legged. Hanging with the Chicks! donnawells's Avatar
    It also depends on the actual colors in the file and whether or not they're achievable when printed. Some colors can be created for viewing on the monitor, but the inks don't have the capability to match them. Not sure that makes sense. The colors might be out of gamut.

Ultimate Super Star Hanging with the Chicks! nicoleseitler's Avatar
    Is there a shortcut to check for that in PSE? I know we have one in PS. It's... CTRL + Y? I can't remember right now.
    sugarplum: facebook :: blog :: twitter
    just me: my bloggity blog :: pinterest

happily creating for: krystal hartley :: studio flergs

Not all who wander are lost Administrator hollyinjapan's Avatar